All stories by Sharon Hoyer on BroadwayStars

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Dance Top 5: January 2018 by Sharon Hoyer

Dance highlights to kick off the new year.

Linked From www.newcitystage.com at 10:00AM
Friday, December 29, 2017

A Terrible and Beautiful Time: Performances at Links Hall Capture the Creative American Zeitgeist by Sharon Hoyer

January at Links Hall is an intensive course in the complexity of our American identity.

Linked From www.newcitystage.com at 02:00PM
Friday, December 1, 2017

Dance Top 5: December 2017 by Sharon Hoyer

Dance in December with Twyla Tharp, Crystal Pite, Christopher Wheeldon and more.

Linked From www.newcitystage.com at 01:00PM
Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Going Deeper: Deeply Rooted Dance Theater mines pain, healing and spirituality in Fana Tshabalala’s INDUMBA by Sharon Hoyer

Tshabalala originally created the piece in his native South Africa, ostensibly in response to apartheid and its aftermath, but the pounding heart of "INDUMBA" is universally powerful to witn…

Linked From www.newcitystage.com at 03:00PM
Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Partially Obstructed: The Seldoms tune in to the lower frequencies in The Making by Sharon Hoyer

This latest piece from Hanson plays with perception by moving the audience through three rooms.

Linked From www.newcitystage.com at 12:26PM
Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Rules of the Game: Lucky Plush Productions Finds Empathy Through Storytelling in Rooming House by Sharon Hoyer

"We’re always wrestling with how to create a piece that an audience can connect to. That’s by creating a logic, but then we also believe the logic breaks down because life doesn’t work…

Linked From www.newcitystage.com at 10:30AM
Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Dance Top 5: November 2017 by Sharon Hoyer

November dance brings a golden celebration, African Dance and movement and theater games. Dance along.

Linked From www.newcitystage.com at 11:37AM
Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Testing Bounds: a preview of Unwinding at the Studebaker Theater by Sharon Hoyer

Pranita (Jain) Nayar, executive artistic director of Mandala South Asian Performing Arts, is testing the bounds of the highly formal dance style she has worked in for over thirty years: the …

Linked From www.newcitystage.com at 11:16AM

The Irrevocable Condition: Reggie Wilson/Fist + Heel Performance Group Explore the Trappings of Group Identity in CITIZEN by Sharon Hoyer

How an individual or community feels like they do belong, or want to belong, but at the same time there might be something about that belonging they don’t want to participate in. You can t…

Linked From www.newcitystage.com at 08:11AM
Friday, September 29, 2017

Dance Top 5: October 2017 by Sharon Hoyer

Dance in October, from the exploration of dance and soccer at MCA Stage to a broad swath of dance styles at Elevate Chicago Dance.

Linked From www.newcitystage.com at 10:17AM
Saturday, September 23, 2017

Gentle, Awkward, Human: A Review of Hubbard Street Dance’s Space, In Perspective at the Harris Theater by Sharon Hoyer

...the company visibly honed in on choreography that ranges from small—an almost imperceptibly slow decent by dancer Rena Butler from standing to sitting in a chair—to massive, with the …

Linked From www.newcitystage.com at 03:05PM
Thursday, September 7, 2017

In Discomfort, Beauty: Carole McCurdy Blends Argentine Tango and Butoh at Defibrillator by Sharon Hoyer

Exploring the embrace of otherness, and the eternal wavering "between female and male, presence and nostalgia, attention and forgetting."

Linked From www.newcitystage.com at 02:26PM
Tuesday, September 5, 2017

What Could Be Better? Glenn Edgerton Discusses the Fortieth Anniversary Season of Hubbard Street Dance by Sharon Hoyer

The Fall Series will transport audiences backstage and behind the scenes at the Harris Theater.

Linked From www.newcitystage.com at 03:46PM
Friday, September 1, 2017

Dance Top 5 by Sharon Hoyer

From Shen Wei Dance Arts to Visceral Dance.

Linked From www.newcitystage.com at 10:00AM
Monday, July 31, 2017
Sunday, July 16, 2017
Friday, June 30, 2017
Thursday, June 29, 2017
Saturday, June 10, 2017
Saturday, June 3, 2017
Monday, May 29, 2017
Sunday, May 21, 2017
Friday, May 19, 2017
Saturday, May 13, 2017
Thursday, May 11, 2017
Monday, May 1, 2017
Thursday, April 27, 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017

All that Chat

2017-2018 BROADWAY SEASON