All stories by Sarah Bryan Miller St. Louis Post-Dispatch on BroadwayStars

Sunday, August 18, 2019
Saturday, August 17, 2019

'Swing Symphony' recording features SLSO, Wynton Marsalis, Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra by Sarah Bryan Miller St. Louis Post-Dispatch

In the recording, Robertson says, the SLSO's players both stood out and fused with the jazz band.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 05:24PM
Sunday, August 11, 2019

'Glory Denied' at Union Avenue Opera explores an American tragedy by Sarah Bryan Miller St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Union Avenue Opera's final production of the season looks at the life of America's longest-held P.O.W.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 04:06AM
Sunday, August 4, 2019

Q&A: Gesher Music Festival looks at refuge, security, sanctuary by Sarah Bryan Miller St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Artistic director and cellist Sara Sitzer says the festival has a great lineup this year

Linked From St. Louis Today at 09:06PM
Saturday, August 3, 2019

After Ferguson, classical music organizations broaden outreach, education by Sarah Bryan Miller St. Louis Post-Dispatch

From free classical guitar lessons to scholarship opportunities, classical music organizations have strengthened their efforts

Linked From St. Louis Today at 01:18PM
Friday, August 2, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019

Pipe Organ Encounter offers 3 free recitals by notable soloists by Sarah Bryan Miller St. Louis Post-Dispatch

You can hear why they call it the 'King of Instruments'

Linked From St. Louis Today at 07:03PM
Tuesday, July 23, 2019

Two championship teams — Blues and St. Louis Symphony Orchestra — partner for auditions by Sarah Bryan Miller St. Louis Post-Dispatch

They're planning to select the soloist for a Blues home game this coming season

Linked From St. Louis Today at 04:33PM
Sunday, July 21, 2019

Puccini's beloved 'La bohème' returns to Union Avenue Opera by Sarah Bryan Miller St. Louis Post-Dispatch

It's the company's third production in 25 years; here's why

Linked From St. Louis Today at 05:42AM
Friday, July 12, 2019
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Friday, July 5, 2019

St. Louis organists will hold concert to help repair the Notre Dame organs by Sarah Bryan Miller St. Louis Post-Dispatch

More than two dozen area organists will take part in the benefit marathon

Linked From St. Louis Today at 11:18PM
Sunday, June 30, 2019

Union Avenue Opera is thriving, 25 years after its humble overture by Sarah Bryan Miller St. Louis Post-Dispatch

This season's operas at Union Avenue Christian Church include a comedy, a classic and a contemporary work

Linked From St. Louis Today at 06:42AM
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Friday, June 21, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019

Opera review: 'Fire Shut Up in My Bones' tells a gritty story in jazz by Sarah Bryan Miller St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Opera Theatre of St. Louis has a notable heritage of commissioning and performing operas that examine important issues of our time. The company’s 28th world premiere, “Fire Shut Up in My…

Linked From St. Louis Today at 10:36AM
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Sunday, June 9, 2019

Opera preview: OTSL brings Terence Blanchard's 'Fire Shut Up in My Bones' to life by Sarah Bryan Miller St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Artistic director James Robinson talks about final production of the season

Linked From St. Louis Today at 06:24AM
Sunday, June 2, 2019

Opera preview: Vice is triumphant in Monteverdi's 'Coronation of Poppea' by Sarah Bryan Miller St. Louis Post-Dispatch

There's lots of beautiful music in this opera, but not a lot of uplift

Linked From St. Louis Today at 09:48PM
Tuesday, May 28, 2019

Concert review: St. Louis Chamber Chorus expresses different varieties of 'Hope' by Sarah Bryan Miller St. Louis Post-Dispatch

The world premiere of Mårten Jansson's 'Hope' was a beautiful success.

Linked From St. Louis Today at 03:24AM
Monday, May 27, 2019

Fine 'Marriage of Figaro' outshines previous efforts at Opera Theatre of St. Louis by Sarah Bryan Miller St. Louis Post-Dispatch

This is a well-considered, well-sung production of one of the world's greatest operas

Linked From St. Louis Today at 03:18AM
Sunday, May 26, 2019
Sunday, May 19, 2019

Opera review: The Metropolitan Opera's 'Ring' cycle, outstandingly sung but hampered by its set by Sarah Bryan Miller St. Louis Post-Dispatch

The 'Machine' has some spectacular moments, but it's noisy, distracting, and dangerous

Linked From St. Louis Today at 10:18AM
Saturday, May 4, 2019
Sunday, April 28, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019

All that Chat

2019-2020 BROADWAY SEASON
Oct 06: Slave Play
Feb 01: The Minutes
TBA: Blue