Friday, August 7, 2020

Brent Carver, Tony Winner for Kiss of the Spider Woman, Dies at 68 by Caitlin Moynihan

Brent Carver, who took home the Tony for his leading turn in 1993's Kiss of the Spider Woman, died on August 4 at the age of 68. The actor passed away in his hometown of Cranbrook, BC in Can…

Linked From Broadway.com at 12:12AM
Monday, August 3, 2020

Theatrefolk Featured Play – Scenes from a Quarantine by Lindsay Price by Lindsay Price

Welcome to our Featured Play Spotlight. The vignette-style play, Scenes from a Quarantine by Lindsay Price, can be easily performed using an online platform and has a variety of scenes to a…

Linked From Theatrefolk at 01:00AM
Sunday, August 2, 2020

Scene changers: the theatre-makers with radical ideas to combat racism by Arifa Akbar

Many black theatre-makers say they feel unwelcome in major venues. Are some performances for black-only audiences the answer? And how can a play spur white audiences to confront their own bi…

Linked From The Guardian at 10:36AM
Saturday, August 1, 2020

Some Must See Shows for the Spring Season by Broadwayandme

The best preview for the spring 2020 theater season I’ve seen was the one that my friend and fellow theater junkie Howard Sherman posted on his Facebook page a couple of weeks ago: I c…

Linked From Broadway & Me at 12:12PM
Tuesday, July 28, 2020

Review: Romeo and Juliet and Man and Superman, ACA Radio Reps’ theatre for the ears by Gregory J. Ford

Adjusting to the changed circumstances brought on by COVID 19, Shakespeare Theatre’s Academy for Classical Acting has moved its 2020 graduating class performances to online audio/radio. In…

Linked From DC Theatre Scene at 05:18PM
Monday, July 27, 2020

Mary Miller obituary by Christopher Baines

My friend and former teacher Mary Miller, who has died aged 90, was an actor in theatre and on television, and a founder member of Laurence Olivier’s National Theatre company at the Old Vi…

Linked From The Guardian at 09:42AM
Sunday, July 26, 2020

Olivia De Havilland, Two-Time Oscar Winner and Broadway Stage Star, Dead at 104 by Broadway.com

Hollywood icon Olivia De Havilland died on July 26 of natural causes at her Paris home. The two-time Academy Award-winning actress was 104 years old. One of the last surviving stars of the …

Linked From Broadway.com at 01:36PM
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Saturday, July 4, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Condola Rashad on the Creation of Space Daughter and What's Next for Billions by Caitlin Moynihan

Condola Rashad is known for her four Tony nominations and playing Kate Sacker in Billions, and now the world is getting to know Dola, Rashad's musical alter-ego—and the name she's using on…

Linked From Broadway.com at 04:06PM
Friday, June 19, 2020

A Midsummer Night’s Zoom: isolation dramas reframe Shakespeare by Chris Wiegand

Romeo and Juliet become online daters unable to meet in a new project that celebrates freelance creatives When the UK went into lockdown in March, a tempest of tweets shared the heartening (…

Linked From The Guardian at 03:12AM
Monday, June 15, 2020

Royal Shakespeare Company condemns 'abhorrent' TV listing describing Romeo and Juliet cast as 'garishly diverse' by Roisin O'Connor, Roisin O'Connor

Listing in the Sunday Times compared the production unfavourably to a performance of Macbeth due to air on BBC4

Linked From The Independent at 03:42PM
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Sunday, May 31, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Saturday, May 23, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020

What If We Do "Romeo And Juliet"... But In Quarantine? (Guest Column by Every Director) by Broadway Beat

by Ryan Danley. @isridiculous. Hello theatre fans! We have all missed you so much. While this time has had its challenges, it also has be...

Linked From www.thebroadwaybeat.com at 12:00AM
Tuesday, May 19, 2020

Podcast Exclusive: The Theatre Podcast With Alan Seales: Vidya Makan

The Theatre Podcast with Alan Seales presents Vidya Makan. Vidya Makan is a composer, singer, actor, and musician based in Melbourne, Australia, and most recently starred as Dot/Marie in Su…

Linked From BroadwayWorld at 12:06PM
Monday, May 18, 2020

Bell Shakespeare to broadcast archived productions exclusively for schools by Arts Review

Bell Shakespeare has announced that it will open its archives for a special limited release of production recordings from its recent history, exclusively for schools. From Monday 25 May 2020…

Linked From artsreview.com.au at 11:23PM
Friday, May 15, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020

Cursed Child Tony Nominee Noma Dumezweni Joins Harry Potter at Home Series by Lindsey Sullivan

Harry Potter at Home, the collection of free initiatives designed to help bring the magic of J.K. Rowling's popular series to children and parents in quarantine, has enlisted performers to r…

Linked From Broadway.com at 09:06AM
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020

My Circle in the Square by Darryl Reilly

“Romeo and Juliet” at this unique theater was the first Broadway show I saw. Rex Harrison, George C. Scott and Brian Bedford were also memorable there. The post My Circle in the Squar…

Linked From www.theaterscene.net at 06:16AM

All that Chat

2019-2020 BROADWAY SEASON
Oct 06: Slave Play
Feb 01: The Minutes
TBA: Blue